The Day in Messages

Wherein Little J and I discuss pop-culture doppelgangers and eventually come upon a crater of shitty, shitty rock music. (Hint: http://www.mtv.com/artists/theory-of-a-deadman/related-artists/?filter=similar)

 

9:22 a.m.

ME: I feel like the chick who plays Jessie’s girlfriend on Breaking Bad [Krysten Ritter] goes on the Aubrey Plaza/Zooey Deschanel/etc. list.

 

LITTLE J: Hehe, yes. Partly because she’s in one of those “apparently there’s this show that I’ve never seen before”—Don’t Trust The Bitch In Apartment 23 (a mental category that 2 Broke Girls inhabits).

Though the Girls lasted longer than the Apartment, apparently.

 


Sexy-Chris_612x380_0

 

10:47 a.m.

ME: It’s Hemsworth and not Pine that I was (at least name-wise) more likely to confuse with Pratt. But in trying to figure out who the other Chris-es were, remembering that you’d mentioned Pine, I was like, “No, that’s not one…I think it was the guy from Star Trek? Oh…”

 

LITTLE J: Pratt *is* kinda halfway between Hemsworth and Pine.

 

ME: I think I’d put Hemsworth in the middle, but if I think too hard about it they become the same person again.

 

LITTLE J: Heh, like a Magic Eye poster.

 


highly-suspect

2:14 p.m.

ME: After listening to as much Highly Suspect as I could tolerate, I’ve fallen down a shitty-hard-rock rabbit hole.

I should know better than to pursue any list so heavily poopulated by Papa Roach.

The typo stays.

 

LITTLE J: I wanted to make a joke about breaking the habit, but I think that’s the wrong (c)rap/rock band

 

ME: Glad I never bothered to distinguish between Theory of a Deadman, Theory of Dying, etc. etc.

Fuck, Art of Dying…see?

 

LITTLE J: As I Lay Dying

Hollywood Undead

 

ME: I’m already sad I know Five-Finger Death Punch.

…which is not, I now realize, Finger 11.

 

LITTLE J: Hahah, true.

 

ME: WTF, music industry.

 

HOMECOMING: Godsmack comes together for the Rockstar Energy Drink Uproar Festival at the Comcast Center on Sunday.

 

LITTLE J: I like the Alice in Chains song => Godsmack, or Machinehead band => Bush song

 

ME: Also, they’re not Mushroom Head…something to keep in mind.

 

LITTLE J: Good point.

 


art-of-dying-interview-1247380615

4:06 p.m.

ME: Oh dear god…this is the throat-punchiest page ever generated by the internet: http://www.mtv.com/artists/theory-of-a-deadman/related-artists/?filter=similar

 

LITTLE J: Black Stone Cherry and Buckcherry: also not the same.

 

ME: Hinder, Staind…

Hinder-630x420

LITTLE J: I was sitting outside Taco Tuesday a couple weeks back, and this little Miata rolls up looking for a spot, coffee-can muffler braaap braaap-ing, racer-style rims and tires, backs into the “we’d like to turn here” non-spot on the corner of the building, a tiny little man gets out, and of course the song on the stereo was Hinder.

 

ME: Haha that’s amazing.

 

LITTLE J: It was too perfect of a set, like you should slam that all down and yell rummy.

Like all you needed was a spray tan and an Affliction shirt (which, in my mind, he has, but I don’t think that’s quite fair).

 

ME: How is it that Affliction reached and breached the douchebaggery of TapOut so quickly?

 

LITTLE J: Yeah, I dunno.

 


the

4: 47 p.m.

ME: You’ve gotta wonder what you’ve done wrong in your life to be on a list where Chad Kroeger and Scott Stapp both appear TWICE.

 

LITTLE J: Hahhaa I hadn’t noticed Evans Blue vs. Blue October.

 

ME: 3 Days Grace, 3 Doors Down and 30 Seconds to Mars—please line up single-file; I only have one lance.

 

LITTLE J: 12 Stones, 10 years…

 

ME: I feel like there was a time in my life when I actually knew Saving Abel, but maybe I’m just thinking of Gerunding Bandname.

 

LITTLE J: Breaking Benjamin? Drowning Pool? Stabbing Westward? Thriving Ivory?

 

ME: This game makes my soul hurt.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

